Timed Save threshold for MR and OTS

The Timed Save feature in MR and OTS automatically saves unsaved roster changes after a defined period of inactivity. This helps prevent data loss when users stop working without manually saving.

When the feature is enabled, a confirmation pop-up displays to inform the user that unsaved changes are automatically saved after the configured threshold. The message must be acknowledged before proceeding.

After the confirmation is acknowledged, an inactivity timer starts whenever a qualifying edit, such as plotting a shift, modifying a Labor Metrics, and updating skills, occur. If no additional qualifying edits occur before the threshold is reached, all unsaved changes are automatically saved and the status label changes from UNSAVED to SAVED.

Each qualifying edit resets the timer. After a manual save, the timer resets and remains stopped until another qualifying edit occurs.

The Timed Save feature works in these rotation states:
  • MR in draft mode
  • Creating a new version of a row or bulk version when MR is not in draft mode
  • Creating a new version of a row or bulk version for an OTS Template
  • All versions of OTS

To define the inactivity interval before an automatic save is triggered, specify the value in the Timed Save Threshold [seconds] field in the Rotation Types form.

See Configuring size limits for warnings.

The default setting is 180 seconds, and the minimum allowable value is 60 seconds.
Note: Configure the threshold to a duration shorter than the session time-out to ensure auto-save occurs before the session expires.

The Timed Save feature operates based on the user's permission level in MR and OTS. User permission overrides the field security permission.

By default, the Saved, Unsaved, and Timed Save switch are hidden for all existing and new customers. These settings are localizable and controlled through security groups.