Synchronizing a business unit
A business unit may require synchronizing if the system detects that the business unit group and the domain are out of step. This can happen in these circumstances:
- The domain database has been restored or copied from another system independently of the business unit group databases.
- The business unit group database has been restored or copied from another system independently of the domain database.
- A business unit has been packed to a store.
When both the domain and the business unit group databases are restored with a common timestamp from a common data set then the system recognizes this and synchronization is not required.
Before you copy data from a packed store you must run Synchronization to ensure that any references to the domain data, held on the business unit data within the store, exist in the domain database.
To synchronize a business unit:
In Business Unit Administration (BUA) select the business unit or business unit group
If the group is selected and there are no unresolved issues then all business units within the group are marked as Synchronized.The Synchronize Summary form is displayed and the status is set to Ready for Validation. The objects to be validated are listed in a table with these columns:
- The name of the object to be validated.
- The total number of records in the object.
- The number of records reserved by the system and cannot be changed.
- The number of records ignored, such as those used by other business units.
- Created using Source
- The total number of records created using the source business unit.
- Map to Existing
- The number of records mapped to existing objects.
- Mapped to New Name
- The number of records mapped to a new record.
- Target Used
- The number of records where the target business unit has been used.
- Target Overwritten
- The number of records overwritten in the target business unit.
- Target Refreshed
- The number of records refreshed.
- The number of records unresolved requiring resolution.
- Specifies whether the object Passed, Resolved or Failed validation, or if verification is required.
.The status is updated to Validation in Progress.When the validation is complete, the header is updated with one of these statuses:
- Ready for Synchronization, when the result of the validation of the objects has one or more Resolved objects and no Failed objects. Synchronize is enabled.
- Failed Validation, when the validation resulted in one or more Failed objects, Synchronize is disabled.
- Optionally, click Synchronization Resolution screen. to display the
When all items have been resolved click
.Synchronization does a final validation then creates or updates data in the domain and source business unit as required.If Synchronization has been invoked from a business unit copy you have the option to re-map Document Formats. You can either select, , or before continuing with the business unit copy process.