Purge data from the M3 Graphical Lot Tracker database

Before enabling purging, determine the number of months of trace data to retain in the M3 Graphical Lot Tracker database.

Data removed by the purge process

The purge process removes eligible data from these M3 Graphical Lot Tracker database tables:
  • M3.Trace
  • TTraceStep
  • TTraceRelation
  • M3.Stock_transaction_detailed
The M3.Trace, TTraceStep, and TTraceRelation tables are used to build the Trace Step diagram. The M3.Stock_transaction_detailed table contains transaction data.
Note: The purge process does not remove data displayed on trace panel tabs, such as order information and purchase information.

see Scenario 3: Perform a full M3 Graphical Lot Tracker re-load when Infor Data Lake integration is enabled

Data Lake behavior

Purged data remains in Data Lake.

When data is purged from M3 Graphical Lot Tracker, the Archived column in the related Data Lake tables is updated to 1 to indicate that the data was deleted from M3 Graphical Lot Tracker.

The affected Data Lake tables are GLT_Trace, GLT_TTraceStep, and GLT_TTraceRelation.

Initially, the GLT trace objects must be cleared in Data Fabric > Compass. Select Admin > Clear Table > Remove Formatted Data (True). Use this option in tenants that do not show the Archive flag in Data Fabric.
Note: If a full re-initialization is necessary and Infor Data Lake is in use,

see Scenario 3: Perform a full M3 Graphical Lot Tracker re-load when Infor Data Lake integration is enabled

Retention setting

The application setting .M3SYS:NoOfMonthsToKeep defines how many months of trace data the purge process retains in the M3 Graphical Lot Tracker database.

If this setting is 0, which is the default value, the purge process does not purge trace data. For example, a value of 48 means that 4 years of data remains in the database.

When the purge process runs

The scheduled data transfer automatically starts the purge process. The process is logged, and you can monitor the process in the System Log.

When purging is enabled for the first time, many months of eligible data can exist. To manage the workload, each scheduled data transfer purges a maximum of six months of data. The next scheduled data transfer purges the next six months, and this cycle continues until the defined retention period is reached.

After the database contains only the configured retention period, the purge process continues monthly.