Archiving work unit data

You can archive a work unit when you run a delete or purge operation. This action enables archiving of work unit data when you delete the data from the transaction database.

When you delete a work unit or run a purge maintenance request that targets a work unit, the work unit data is archived and sent to the ArchiveData business class.

These work unit business classes support work unit archiving:

  • PfiWorkunit
  • PfiActivity
  • PfiMetrics
  • PfiMetricsSummary
  • PfiQueue
  • PfiQueueAssignment
  • PfiWorkunitFolder
  • PfiWorkunitInputData
  • PfiWorkunitVariable

Enabling archiving of work units

To enable archiving of work units, ensure that the EnableArchiving configuration parameter is also enabled.

  1. In the Process Server Administration, select Administration > Work Units > Enable Archiving.
  2. Click Submit.
    PfiWorkunit, PfiActivity, PfiMetrics, PfiMetricsSummary, PfiQueue, PfiQueueAssignment, PfiWorkunitFolder, PfiWorkunitInputData, PfiWorkunitVariable configuration parameters are defined and are set to archivable.
    Note: Enabling archiving of work units can increase deletion processing time. Sometimes, purge operations may take longer to complete.

Disabling archiving of work units

  1. In the Process Server Administration, select Administration > Work Units > Disable Archiving.
  2. Click Submit.
    PfiWorkunit, PfiActivity, PfiMetrics, PfiMetricsSummary, PfiQueue, PfiQueueAssignment, PfiWorkunitFolder, PfiWorkunitInputData, PfiWorkunitVariable configuration parameters are set to not archivable.
    Note: If you disable archiving for work units and run a purge on work units, the work unit data is displayed in the ArchivedData table with a Sent To Archive status as Disabled.

    To manually enable disabled records, select More Actions > Enabled All Disabled Records. Select the business class of the work unit to enable or leave the field blank to process all eligible records and click Submit.