Managing the pages

  1. From the application menu, select Administration Tools > Administration Tools > Start Page Settings tab.
  2. In the Application settings section, use the toggle switch to either enable or disable these settings:
    Enable Start Pages

    Default value: enabled

    This setting determines whether Start pages should be enabled for the user. This setting makes it possible for an application administrator to enable/disable Start pages for a specific user or role.

    Note: If Start page is disabled, the Start page settings menu on the Home tab will no longer be available. You can still access the Page Administration tool through the H5 Administration Tools.
    Enable public page favorites

    Default value: enabled

    This setting determines whether a page from the library can be added as a favorite.

    When adding a page from the library, you can either add the page as a favorite so that the user will get any changes made by editors, or add it as a copy so that the page will be copied to a private page.

    Enable copying of public pages

    Default value: enabled

    This setting determines whether a page from the library can be copied into a private page.

    When adding a page from the library, you can either add the page as a favorite so that the user will get any changes made by editors, or add it as a copy so that the page will be copied to a private page.

    If Enable private pages is disabled, this setting will be considered disabled regardless of its value.

    Enable editing of public pages

    Default value: disabled

    This setting determines whether the user who is not the page owner can edit public pages. If this setting is enabled, it does not matter whether the public page has an Owner edit level. If this setting is enabled for a user, the user has special rights and is always allowed to edit a public page.

    Enable deleting of public pages

    Default value: disabled

    This setting determines whether the user who is not the page owner can delete public pages. If this setting is enabled for a user, the user has special rights and is always allowed to delete a public page.

    Enable page import

    Default value: enabled

    If this setting is enabled, the user is allowed to import a page. Import is enabled only if Enable private pages is also enabled.

    Enable page export

    Default value: enabled

    If this setting is enabled, the user is allowed to export a page. Pages that are listed in My Pages can be exported. Widgets that contain external data sources, for example Favorites, cannot have their data exported.

    You can export one page at time and the output is a .json file.

    Enable public sharing of pages

    Default value: enabled

    This setting determines whether the user is allowed to publish or share a page so that it becomes available in the Page Library. If the page is available, other users can add the page, or administrators can use it as a default template or a mandatory page.

    Given that all pages are initially created as private pages, users must be allowed to create at least one private page to be able to publish a page. For this setting to be enabled, Enable private pages must also be enabled.

    Enable remembering of last used page

    Default value: enabled

    If enabled, the last viewed page is stored in the browser cache. The next time a user logs in, the last opened page will appear instead of the first page. Disabling will allow the administrator to decide which specific Start page opens first.

    Enable private pages

    Default value: enabled

    This setting determines whether a user is allowed to have a private page.

    Note: Most of these functionalities will always be available for Start Page Administrators even if the settings are disabled.
  3. Specify this information:
    Max number of pages

    Default value: 3

    Specify the maximum number of pages a user can add to My Pages. The number includes both private pages and public pages that are added as favorites.

    Mandatory pages that are set by the administrator are not included in the count. Setting the value to 0 is equivalent to disabling Enable private pages.

    Setting the value to 3 and disabling Enable private pages means that the user can add public pages (if enabled) but not create any own private pages.

    Changing the value (to a new lower value) will not delete pages from users that already have more pages than the specified number. However, it will prevent them from adding pages until they are under the limit again.

    Minimum edit level for pages

    Default value: Owner

    Select Everyone or Owner. Start page administrator can always edit public pages. This setting only applies to public pages. When sharing a page, an edit level can be specified for the page by the owner. If set to Everyone, everyone can make changes to the public page including deleting all widgets and replacing the content.

    If you require a more controlled configuration, you should set the minimum level to Owner, which makes it impossible for the owner to allow simple users to edit the public page.

    Note: Start page administrators can always edit public pages.

    There is no automatic refresh or notification of updated page between users. The latest saved change overrides previous changes, so having an edit level set to Everyone can be problematic.

    Setting the level to Owner will affect pages that are already published, so that only the owner and Start page administrators are allowed to edit them.

    Default page

    Specify the ID of the page that should be used as a template for new users. This setting is only applied if Enable private pages is enabled. The user will get a private copy of the page specified, but only if no mandatory page is set for the user.

    Mandatory pages

    Specify a list of page IDs that are mandatory for the user. These pages will be added to My Pages and will be added first in the list of Start pages. Only public pages can be selected.

  4. Click Save.