Saving configured items for reuse
Many businesses must order the same configured item repeatedly. For example, if you manufacture or sell exterior doors, you may place orders for the same configured white aluminum storm doors several times a year.
In CPQ Enterprise Quoting, after you add a configured item to a quote or an order, you can save that configuration for future use. This makes reordering more efficient. You can make a saved configuration available to you or to all users in your system. Saved configurations are called named configurations.
Named configurations saved with the Current User access type are associated with the dealer or direct representative who created them. When that representative is permanently deleted in IFS User Management, the named configurations created by that representative are removed in CPQ Enterprise Quoting.
For quotes and orders with ongoing transactions, the affected line reverts to the source configuration product. For quotes and orders with completed transactions, the affected line retains the deleted named configuration. These records remain valid in CPQ Enterprise Quoting. Named configurations saved for all users are retained.