User overview
You can view an overview of a user on the User Management page when you select a user from the Users panel. If you have administrator privileges, you can manage some of the user details, reset their password, view the spaces or accounts for that user, and so on.
To edit and manage an existing user, select a user from the Users panel. That user's User Overview is displayed with the user's settings. These setting fields are displayed on the User Management page for you to view or manage when a user is selected:
- Status
- The status of the user, Active or Inactive.
- User Admin Access
- You can promote the user to have admin access or you can revoke their admin privileges.
- Unlock User
- Lock or unlock the user.
- Reset Password
- Click to reset the user's password. A new email is then sent to the user.
- Release
- The release or environment release to use for the user. This enables administrators to pin one or more users to a specific Birst release. By default, all users in the cloud are set to the latest stable release.
- Delete User
- Click to delete the user permanently.
- Mobile Usage
- Select the kind of mobile usage to assign the user, None, Online Only, Online & Offline.
- Mobile Data
- Remove the user's mobile Birst data.
- Birst Support
- Set Birst support for the user. See Enabling Birst support proxy.
- Warehouse
- The data warehouse for the user. If you want this user to use external databases, ensure that Birst and External Cloud is selected. See External databases.
- Spaces Names
- This table shows the spaces this user is a member. If multiple users are selected, the table is divided and lists the spaces for each user. You can use the Search field in the table header to search for space names and account groups for the selected users.
- Account Groups
- This table shows the account groups that the user is a member. If multiple users are selected, the table is divided and lists the account groups for each user. You can use the Search field in the table header to search for space names and account groups for the selected users.
Idle User Deactivation Policy
The Birst platform includes an automatic inactive user deactivation policy to enhance account security and prevent unused accounts from remaining enabled indefinitely.
If you have never logged in, your user account remains subject to the inactivity policy and will be set to Inactive at the time of sign-in if the allowed inactivity period exceeds.
If your unused account is deactivated, an Account Administrator can re-enable it through User Management to restore your access. For more information, see Disabling or enabling a user.